The Secret Importance of Balance in Our Lives

beach-677124_640

Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance, order, rhythm and harmony.
– Thomas Merton

My mom is always asking me, when are you going to go on vacation?

My response is usually, when I figure it all out.  She knows I am an ambitious soul.  She knows I will commit myself until I succeed.

However when I discover something that piques my interest, I wholeheartedly pour my life into that area.  As my best friend Paul said, I don’t just go part time or full time.  I dedicate ALL TIME to my interest(s).

The benefits are immense.  I learn at a rapid pace, become very immersed quickly,  and in a few weeks or months I am clearly displaying understanding and proficiency in the interest.  But something always happens.

I achieve a certain level of success.  Or maybe a certain failure emerges.  Or maybe my perspective changes but the common result is that I finally blow out.

At this point, the imbalance of work and actually living and enjoying my life has become a point of shut down.  I am hesitant to do the work I know I love.

It is a real challenge for me.  I had to decide to take a break from blogging to regain clarity and focus for my life.

Today, I’m back and I’m better!  The purpose of this post was simply to remind you to balance your work, family, and personal life.  When these areas are in harmony, and you are growing in each area without spending too much time and effort in just one – you can experience a profound amount of joy and fulfillment.

Appreciate the process.  Appreciate the moment that is now.

Have a wonderful day!
________________________________________
Photo Credit: jregerman

10 thoughts on “The Secret Importance of Balance in Our Lives

  1. I appreciated this post as it hits close to home. I am very much like you dedicating an obscene amount of time to my current interest. If I have a question pop up in my head I’m learning everything there is to learn about the subject inside and out. Google and I are BFFs. Some times balance is hard, but it’s something we should all strive for. When you get that sense of balance in your life it’s like finally being at peace. Then comes the struggle to keep that balance. It’s a struggle worth over coming though.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dear hotchickgonefat,

      Thank you for reading my blog, its awesome to see that we are similar!

      I also believe it is remarkable how proficient we can become with Google when we are always using the search engine and other tools to learn and answer our pondering and endless stream of questions.

      I am certainly striving for balance in my daily life, I do appreciate your comment.

      Have a nice day with Halo!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad to be in connection with you nathaswami! It is my hope that you can use some of the ideas I have presented to make your life better and also to assist others with accomplishing their goals.

      Thank you for reading my work, it means the world to me! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

